Skip to Main Content

NAWM Announces Wabash Athletics Hall of Fame Inductions

1972 Soccer Team

The National Association of Wabash Men will induct five record-setting scholar-athletes and one of the College’s greatest soccer teams in the Wabash Athletics Hall of Fame during Homecoming 168体育平台下载_足球即时比分-注册|官网ekend in 2024.

Emmanuel Aouad 2010

Being honored this September will be Emmanuel Aouad ’10, 168体育平台下载_足球即时比分-注册|官网s Chamblee ’12, Matt Hudson ’10, Matt McGuire ’00, and Evan Rhinesmith ’11. The NAWM will also honor former Dean of Students and Director of Athletics Tom Bambrey ’68 as a special inductee.

Emmanuel Aouad ’10 was an indoor and outdoor track all-American who set Wabash indoor records in the 55- and 60-meter hurdles (7.48 and 8.3, respectively), as well as the indoor long jump record (22’5”). Emmanuel finished third in the 55-meter hurdles at the 2010 NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field Championships and was seventh in the 110-meter high hurdles at the 2010 Outdoor Championships. He was a seven-time North Coast Athletic Conference champion and earned 12 all-NCAC awards. 

168体育平台下载_足球即时比分-注册|官网s Chamblee 2012

168体育平台下载_足球即时比分-注册|官网s Chamblee ’12 was a dynamic two-sport athlete at Wabash. In 2011, 168体育平台下载_足球即时比分-注册|官网s was a First Team all-American return specialist after earning honorable mention all-American honors in 2009. Over the course of his career, he made 154 receptions for 2,189 yards and scored 19 touchdowns, while adding another five touchdowns on punt and kick returns. He was also a four-year letterman and national qualifier in the 400-meter intermediate hurdles for the track and field team. He set the Wabash record and won two NCAC titles in the 400-meter intermediate hurdles.

Matt Hudson ’10 was a three-year starting quarterback for the Little Giants. Matt was a three-time first team all-NCAC pick, two-time NCAC Offensive Player of the Year, and the 2010 Pete Vaughan Award winner. 

Matt Hudson ’10

During his career, he passed for 8,420 career yards and 79 touchdowns, and led Wabash to the NCAA playoffs three straight years, going 3-3 in the post-season and 30-6 overall as a starter. He was named to the NCAC’s 30th anniversary all-decade team.

Matt McGuire ’00 was a hard-throwing, four-year starting pitcher for the Little Giant baseball team, going 23-17 with a 3.82 ERA and 277 strikeouts in his career. Matt owns Wabash’s career records for wins (23), innings pitched (271), strikeouts (278), and appearances (58) and three other single-season records. Nearly 25 years later, he remains one of the most effective pitchers in Wabash history, having struck out 13 batters in a game three different times with 11 or more strike outs six different times.

Matt McGuire '00

Evan Rhinesmith ’11 was a record-setting, versatile swimmer and 2011 honorable mention all-American. Evan set Wabash records in the 100-yard individual medley, 200-yard individual medley, 50-yard breaststroke, and 100-yard breaststroke, and swam on two record-setting relay teams. He won the 100-yard breaststroke at the 2011 NCAC championships.

While Tom Bambrey ’68 was a four-year letter winner in track and field for Owen Huntsman, his greatest contributions to Wabash athletics were his initiatives as dean of students. Assigned oversight of the athletic department under President Andy Ford, he developed the current structure in the department, increased the recruitment role, and furthered the professionalization of the staff. He was also integral in the hiring of some of the most successful coaches in recent history. He left the dean’s office to become director of athletics, and in retirement he continues his passion for Wabash athletics by attending most football games and track meets.

Evan Rhinesmith '11

The NAWM will also induct the 1972 soccer team in the Athletics Hall of Fame. Under Coach Doug Landgraf, the ’72 team had one of the best defenses in school history, posted an 8-3 record, and had wins over Valparaiso, Ball State, and Lake Forest, and two over DePauw in the pre-Division III era. The team allowed just six goals in 11 games, best in Wabash history, outscored its opponents 31-6, and Coach Landgraf was named Indiana Collegiate Soccer Coach of the Year.  While beating DePauw twice is Hall of Fame worthy, the team’s 3-1 win at Wheaton—after Wheaton had won six consecutive NCAA regional titles and was the defending Indiana-Illinois Soccer Conference Champion—was its crowning achievement. This is the first soccer team to be inducted into the Athletics Hall of Fame in Wabash history, and just the 14th team overall. 

Tom Bambrey '68

“The men we’re honoring this September really are exceptional,” said Tony Unfried ’03, vice president of the NAWM and chair of its nominating committee.  “All of them have made significant contributions to the Wabash College athletics program. I look forward to seeing them all back on campus at Homecoming.” The induction ceremony will take place on Friday, Sept. 13, 2024, in the Allen Athletics and Recreation Center on campus.  Further information and registration for the ceremony will be available this summer at